some people need to grow up


Boy, life can sure can deal some blows, can’t it? But so many of them could be avoided if people just accepted the responsibility that is theirs in a situation .

I’m mad today. Mad that people can’t see what’s right in front of them. Mad that I can’t grab them by the throat and tell them to grow up. I wish someone had done that to me on occasion. Whether it would’ve worked, I don’t know but at least I would’ve been aware that someone had a different view. The words would have been stored somewhere in my mind not to be totally ignored.

So if you’re mad today because people you love are sabotaging their own lives, know that  you have company. I wish I had some good advice to offer you but I’m fresh out. If you’re a Christian, this is where your “praying rubber” meets the road. It’s where you dig a trench and refuse to be moved, believing that God sees, knows, and can work miracles.

While God sees, knows, and can work miracles, people have to cooperate.  We should always be aware they may choose not to but God will still be working in our lives anyway. So don’t give up. Get mad enough to give you the energy you need. Not the kind of mad that’s counter productive but the kind that prevents you from giving up. (Remember, anger (like all emotions) isn’t a sin unless it leads to sinful thoughts, words, or actions.)

4 thoughts on “some people need to grow up

  1. Funny after I wrote this I was faced with another situation involving the very same people. I, too, am having to remind myself that God is still working, at lest in me.

  2. I have experience with watching loved ones sabotage their own lives. In fact, it’s my current situation. Not being able to “help” or get through to them is one of the most helpless feelings.

    • It is a helpless feeling all right. You just want to take them by the throat, right? I hope no one has ever felt this way about me. God bless and come again.

Leave a Reply

