thankfulness/R


Rescue

Rescue (Photo credit: Shuttering2Think)

Thankfulness/R

Relieve, restitution, ready, reason, rescue, retreat, restore

You would be amazed to know how many words start with “re”.  Lots and lots. I am so ready for my next game of “Words With Friends.”  Today I’m picking “rescue” because I often need rescuing.

This is going to be a primarily religious post so if this isn’t in your comfort zone, please feel free to exit. I’m not offended.

I am a Christian.  A Christian who has been rescued more times than I deserve. God is like that. He rescues us even when we’ve done everything wrong. Even when we don’t deserve it. He rescued the Israelites time and time again even though they broke every commandment.

As I mature in my faith I know that God expects me. They’re not always crystal clear but the underlying truths are very clear. For example, Proverbs has a lot to say about not being lazy. This means that when I’m starting to feel depressed, I know that being a couch potato isn’t usually helpful.  Sometimes, taking a day off and doing nothing does work but only if it’s a decision I’ve made and not my depression calling the shots. Proverbs also has a lot to say about the words we use. When I’m starting to feel down, I know that it’s important I choose my words carefully, not so much for other people in general, but for me in particular.

But sometimes I can do all the right things I know to do, and depression still makes its presence known. This is when God steps in and rescues. A few weeks ago I was feeling kind of down -not depressed. (I’ve learned to distinguish between the two.) My husband was at our cabin and I couldn’t go as other family obligations kept me at home. I managed to keep myself busy in the morning but after I ran some errands I came home and felt some “little foxes nipping at my heels”. The phone rang but I didn’t answer it. I wanted a pity party and I wanted no party crashers. But I’ve been a Christian long enough to know when God is behind something. I called the person back. They came over and spent the rest of the day and part of the evening with me and I felt much better by the time they left. I consider that a “God rescue.”

Sometimes God rescues through the reading of his word. I’ll read something and have the uncanny feeling that God is speaking to me personally. (Many Christians have had the same experience.) Its’ like when he inspired the author to pen those words he knew that a couple of thousand years later those words would bring me solace.  

Sometimes the rescue is really extraordinary. About ten years ago, (which was a period when depression really had a stronghold on me) I came home to find a message on our house phone. I pressed the play button. The voice I heard was unfamiliar. I didn’t have a clue who it was but she was praying-for me. She prayed for about a minute or two and I can still remember the chill I felt. The prayer she prayed was uncanny. It was as if she knew everything about me and particularly the bad day I was having. Another “God rescue”.  I’ve never forgotten it.

God knows when we’ve lost our way. He knows when we’ve run out of options. He knows when the timing is right for our rescue. So today I’m really thankful to know I love a God who rescues me when he knows I need rescuing. As Martha Stewart says, “It’s a good thing.”

 

Leave a Reply

