depression’s gift


 

Depression’s Gift

(I’m adding another post today. Just think I should.)

DUH!  Boy, do I need help. I only just figured out the importance of adding “links” to my blog. I had a book from the library called “Idiots Guide to WordPress”. That definitely is me when it comes to blogging. Once I started adding links, my followers started to slowly increase. Here’s why that is important to me.

I’ve been depression free for about ten years now after many years of struggling with this mind-zapping, soul-sucking, dream killing, illness.  I’ve also been writing a book that even if I say so myself is a good book because it is very practical and is written from someone who’s been there.  Not a doctor or “expert” who has never struggled with it. I did do a great deal of research though and have often said that I’m as close to an expert as any non-professional could possibly be.

A few months ago I was working on the book proposal and felt I was being led to blog about it. I reasoned I could reach more people and reach them faster than I could with a book. Plus, I already have all the material. (Am hoping to begin posting from book starting in January.) Seeing as how I was never going to keep any royalties from the book anyway, should it get published, I thought, why not? As it turned out, writing a book was a lot easier than figuring out the technical side of setting up a blog.  My learning curve is still steep as I know I need to upgrade but not sure I’ll be able to figure out more “bells and whistles.”  

While I am a Christian, not every word in this blog will contain references to my faith so it’s a blog that anyone, no matter whether an individual shares my beliefs or not, will still find help. Today’s blog was about rescue. Everyone needs rescuing at times.  My blog is for this purpose. I hope I can reach out to thousands as I know I have something important to offer. My struggle overcoming depression wasn’t easy. It wasn’t easy to quit the medication and fly solo. It still isn’t.

Even today as the holidays approach, I remember a holiday about twelve years ago when I questioned whether I wanted to experience another one.  I was rescued that day but I’ve never forgotten that horrible feeling of total desperation. And, remember, I am a Christian so I had to reconcile those feelings with my faith and I felt like such a failure. (By the way, my doctor had changed and increased my medication a few weeks prior which turned out to be the reason. The new medication caused severe anxiety. With my doctor’s cooperation, I started to wean myself off it and within a year was not only pill-free but depression free.  What I learned during those couple of years will find their way into this blog.  But not every day.

One of the most valuable lessons I learned is that constantly thinking and talking about one’s depression makes it worse. I’ve read some blogs that are nothing more than everyone sharing their “pity” party. I don’t mean to sound harsh but I know (and solid research backs me up) that this doesn’t help. This blog will never condone the habits that we ourselves engage in that make our depression worse. It will focus on personal responsibility. Think about that for a minute. If depression and its cure is within you, that gives you hope because it means it’s something you can manage. It’s not outside of you even if its cause is. No matter what causes depression, you have the ability to manage it.

I’ m not editing this post at all except for spell check. I want it to be straight from my heart with no attempt to make it more palatable. Family is coming today for Thanksgiving so I have to get busy.

One more thing. I’m not only thankful for the rescue that has been mine, I’m also thankful that I have struggled with depression. Depression, in a strange way, can be a gift. The insights we gain, the compassion for others that we can feel, are just two of those gifts.  

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and God bless you.

  

Leave a Reply

